Vinny’s Cucina

A couple of months ago I visited a great little random restaurant in Ivanhoe (which is soon to become my new suburb of residence, but I doubt any one who is reading this and cares doesn’t know that already) and I loved it. When trying to find some info on it today I couldn’t find anything of substance. The most information was on UrbanSpoon, but that merely had 9 votes and not much data.

Vinny's Cucina on Urbanspoon

So I’m posting this so there is more than zero data on the web about them :)

I was wandering down Ivanhoe strip looking for somewhere to eat with two gaming buddies of mine and we’d got to the end of the strip with no decisions having been made. So we went into Vinny’s and asked for a table. The first sign we’d made a good choice was they told us they were sorry but they were fully booked but we could have a table on the front patio if we wanted. It was long enough ago that eating dinner on the front patio was still a good idea so we stayed.

The food is good Italian with lots of pasta and pizza, we ordered a range of them and were very very pleased with everything we ordered. We were pleased enough that I even ordered a desert that would typically not be on my list of desires and it blew me away (I usually don’t order chocolate deserts, this one was awesome).

I’m not sure why I haven’t made it back there yet. I probably will later this week (hence why I was looking for details online).

I’ll probably post a better write up of it after that. Hopefully when it is still fresh in my mind.

PS: Hrm, it’s been over a year has it? Oh well.

4 responses to “Vinny’s Cucina

  1. Urbanspoon – I haven’t gotten into the habit of using it. Do you find it’s worth it?

    • I mainly use it to find what exists, the usefulness of the reviews is mixed. Mainly because there just isn’t enough volume to cut out effect of the owners spending 30 minutes inserting their own fake reviews.

      For instance I was pretty unhappy with the quality of the meals we got for the price we paid last night at King’s Steak and Seafood Bar after the PTQ. Also they had real trouble keeping the orders straight. But the reviews on Urban Spoon are only slightly negative and it had a 70% approval rating.
      http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/71/1496601/restaurant/CBD/Kings-Steak-Seafood-Bar-Melbourne

      • Makes sense. I suppose the power of those crowdsourced systems is that they’re only as good as the engagement of the users. I’m sure there are parallels in Magic – the judge program is a good example of what happens when you get a community of people working together whose opinions are respected across the board, now that I think of it :-)

Leave a Reply

