In preperation for My upcoming Two Headed Giant tournament I am trying to keep upto date with all the rulings and so on todo with the format. So to my immense enjoyment I was reading the 2HG FAQ today and found that they have put a rule into the comprehensive rules incorrectly :(
If an effect sets a single player’s life total to a number, what number so I set the Team’s life total to?
If an effect would set a single player’s life total to a number, that player’s individual life total becomes that number. The team’s life total is adjusted by the amount that player’s life total was adjusted.
Example: In a Two-Headed Giant game, a player on a team that has 25 life plays a spell that reads, “your life total becomes 20.” That player’s life total is considered to be 13 for the purpose of the spell, so that player’s life total becomes 20 and the team’s life total becomes 32.
Note: The rule and example in section 606.9c of the Comprehensive Rules that relate to this question are incorrect. The answer listed above is an official correction to the Comprehensive Rules. (The Comp Rules will be updated at a later date.)
This does make things a lot more normal though, this way Beacon of Immortality in 2HG will opperate as if it read “Increase your teams life total by 50%” which will typicaly give a similar life swing to the Beacon in single player games, but makes it less useful in a general life gaining strategy. (This is much better than the way the comprehensive rules describe it which makes it round your teams life total upto the nearest even number).