Nationals

This last weekend I went up to Nationals in Canberra, I staid with a good friend of mines family out in the suburbs. Except for the silliness of needing to catch a taxi home at 10.00 Sunday night as all the busses have already stopped (and taxi drivers who can hardly stay on the road) it was a very nice arrangement, making the weekend much cheaper for us.

On Saturday I paid my $100 for the all day ticket and signed up for the first sealed event, we had a super annoying 68 (or some such) players sign up so we had to have a first round with many many byes, I didn’t get one. Comfortably beating my opponent in 3 games I go onto the second round, and by weird coincidences I still had to play someone to make it into the 3rd round. Finally I play someone with something resembling a decent deck and get eliminated in the third round.

Next I join my first constructed grinder (around 2.00pm), have a fun but un-eventful first round match that I win, then move onto the second round. I get rather surprised when my opponent drops a Howling Mine on turn 2, and then the penny drops when he drops a Underworld Dreams a turn later. I think to my self that this shouldn’t be too hard I have 4 Viridian Zealots main deck and 4 Naturalizes in the sideboard. So just after he plays the first Underworld Dreams I persecute him for ‘Black’ to have him reveal a hand 3 swamps and another Underworld Dreams. My luck seams against me when he drops a top-decked UWD the next turn though, for some reason my deck can’t cope with having a guaranteed 4 damage each turn, especially after I had already used 1 or 2 Night’s Whispers.

Game 2 didn’t go my way either, with my opponent dropping 2 Underworld Dreams and a Night of All Soul’s Betrayal, without me seeing a single Naturalize :(

Oh well, I might post some other tales of woe in grinders and/or side events later.

Leave a Reply

