Friday Night Drafting at LURG

The slightly silly people at LURG (LaTrobe University Roleplay Group) brought too much Saviors of Kamigawa so we still have another 2 or 3 drafts of that left before we get around to playing any Ravnica drafts. This is particularly annoying as we are playing triple Saviors drafts. This is a particularly odd format and should never be touched.

Luckily last night though in the format of madness I opened and got passed some very nice cards, opened Brairknit Kami, passed Manriki-Gusari, passed Briarknit Kami and another Manriki-Gusari 4th. I can’t think of a start to a triple Saviors draft that I would want more, playable semi-chase uncommons and limited bomb uncommons in the colour that I like to play most. Unfortunately I messed up a bit when I looked at the first packs wort of picks, after the bomb opening I picked lots of solid red and black cards to build either of my two favourite decks (heavy spirit/arcane hand size matters) and then took 5 playable white cards last, including two Shinen of Stars’ Lights and some of the decent common flyers.

So from there on I drafted a very solid deck based around Nitzans favourite pick for worst colours ever to draft. The second pack was very good to me too with such lovely bombs as Molting Skin. Unfortunately I went down in the second round to a deck that was slightly too fast for me to cope with, with anything less than my best opening curve. 3rd overall isn’t that bad though considering, picking me up a Spoon in the raredraft (silly LURG people allowing people to keep foils).

Leave a Reply

