UG Control

I've had a pretty good track record with UG Control decks. Maybe its my love of Gifts Ungiven and that the best Gifts decks were UG when Eternal Witness was legal or that the style of deck just agrees with me.

So heres a snap shot at a deck I've been thinking about. (NB: that means I haven't tried to play it ever, not even on MWS, but don't get me started on MWS)

Counters:
4x Spell Snare
4x Disrupting Shoal
4x Hinder
4x Voidslime

Acceleration:
4x Sakura Tribe Elder
4x Coiling Oracle

Win Condition:
3x Simic Sky Swallower
2x Keiga, the Tide Star (I hear hes good against 'Vore)

Now that's only 29 cards, assuming 24 land, leaving us 7 more slots. Should those slots be a black splash for mortify and something else good? Personally I think I like 4 Cytoplast Manipulators and 3 Plaxcaster Froglings would be a realy good idea.

I do fear for this decks chances against a truly aggressive deck though, but I think that Disrupting Shoal and Spell Snare could be particularly effective. 

One response to “UG Control

  1. I feel you need both bounce and card draw. also, you can run that deck on 20 lands. You need jushis, boomerangs, and repeals. In addition, if you are gonna splash anything I would use splash red for electrolyze, it’s card draw and two damage anywhere you want it. Giant Solifuge is a strong choice for your sideboard as well as threads.

Leave a Reply

