State Youth Games

I know this doesn't relate to the main topics of my blog, but I think that's the point its my blog :)

Last weekend was my 10th State Youth Games, having made my debut at the last at the old venue and missing one at the new venue for y12 (not that I did any study that weekend on principle). It was also my second year of co-ordinating the team from Northern.

It was a great time, things were nice and leisurely on Friday as I managed to get down to Lardner Park at around 2.00 with Marty to setup tents. I would have been down earlier but who I was meant to be travelling down with failed to turn up at the church on time. All the tents were set up not long after the rest of the people left the church at 5.00 to come down.

One of the reasons it took everyone so long to come down was that we had a further 3 cancellations. One of Hollies multitudinous friends didn't turn up and on asking the girls about it they said she couldn't make it. The wife and child of the guy who failed to turn up earlier in the day also didn't make it to the church on time to leave, and still weren't answering their phone.

Weather wise we had very little rain, with a little Saturday night and a fair bit Monday morning. The rain Saturday night was needed to clear the fog we had all day to make it the coldest night in recorded history (or so I'm told). The rain on Monday was a nuisance, but the friendly work for the dole people back at church air all of our tents for us so there all nice and dry now.

Thankfully the closing ceremony only went 10 minutes over time, which is very kewl, when they were aiming for 30 minutes.

Now for the less than perfect parts. The evening worship was crap. The drama was great, but I nearly always like the drama, at least since they learned that the meaning of the drama should be oozing out of every pore, not just tacked on at the end. The songs and speaker though were atrocious. They had too many rock songs, I'm not sure if they were songs designed to be worship songs and I suspect they were, but they were horrible for singing along to. I have no issue with singing to worship songs I've never heard before, I have excelent reading skills. I just can't sing along to rock songs, they just aren't worship for me.

Also the speaker was horrible. The first night his 3 minute intro bit was received as an advert for his books and such. I don't think it was so bad on that, the bad bit was when he apologised for it on the second night saying that advertising his books isn't what he was there for, he was there to tell all these people about the good news of Jesus. He just had to finish that statement with pointing out where his books were located! He also felt he needed to give a sob story about how he had to pass up going to the World Cup with his daughters as he had already agreed to speak at SYG. Hey I don't give a crap, just get on with the input.

So then he tried to get on with the input. You all know how many speakers try to start any speech with a funny joke, all the decent ones use a joke that is about the topic they are talking on. Tim Hawkins, the speaker, decided to start his input with around a dozen two liner jokes about how much of a failure he was. This could nearly have been acceptable if he then lead into how God loves you not matter how little you think of yourself, but he didn't. For that matter I can't really remember what he spoke about at all.

I do know that I preferred his version of the altar call for the end of the input. Just a simple hand raising so the youth leaders can know who to target with post SYG pressure, hrm, really friendly and nice that was. I would prefer if the introduction into the 'altar call' took less than 5 minutes though, we really don't need the reasons to and not to respond to an altar call explained to us in that much detail.

So anyway, it was a pretty decent SYG, we had plenty of fun competing our way towards 3rd last :)

Leave a Reply

