Ubuntu I hate you

Ubuntu killed my computer

I installed the new version, 6.06, of Ubuntu last weekend. After lots of playing around I manged to get XGL and Compiz working, all nice and pretty. On Saturday night this weekend I was about to start playing with the settings for Compiz to make it alot less annoying (I like graphics effects, but after about a week I like to turn them down to barely noticeable) when I noticed that Ubuntu wanted to install like 60 odd updates, so I let it and unusually it asked me ro reboot to finish them, I guessed this was due to the requested update of the kernel.

On reboot nada. System wouldn't boot, BIOS would even attempt to boot the OS. So after 30 minutes of trying to convince the BIOS to boot the OS I booted from a live CD to discover the problem. To my horror I found that the disk appeared to be un-partitioned!

This did not make me a happy camper.

If any one knows of a way to recreate a partition table from nothing more than a list of the functions of each partition please contact me.

5 responses to “Ubuntu I hate you

  1. “I hate you, so much, right now”

    What song is that from?

  2. thanks for dropping by my site! As for hating ubuntu, I am currently running the cousin Kubuntu, and also did the rediculously long update. However, it all went off nicely without a hitch. I didn’t have to reboot either to finish the process. My laptop buzzes along nicely. Have you tried the Ubuntu forums? Chances are you are not the only one to have had this issue…

  3. I had already done a fresh install of Dapper, this was just a small collection of incrimental updates. If I was upgrading to Dapper at the time I could nearly understand it, but not just some minor updates.

    Also my 1337 search skill have failed to find anyone else who this has happened to.

  4. for Kubuntu, the upgrade included kernel and KDE base system upgrades, so it was reasonably major. Sounds very annoying for you

  5. Kelis – Caught Out There

Leave a Reply

