Orange Man

Firstly I like to name decks after obscure song references. This is named after the character in the Dresden Dolls song “Slide”, as this is a variation on slide decks adding Solitary Confinement.

I’ve been looking at CAL and Slide decks for a while and been thinking that some form of mashing them together seams like the right idea. So here is a random Slide list I found on the SCG forums:

Creatures
3x Birds of Paradise
3x Sakura-Tribe Elder
4x Eternal Witness
4x Loxodon Hierarch
3x Eternal Dragon
2x Dwarven Blastminer

Spells
3x Shred Memory
4x Wrath of God
1x Life from the Loam
2x Hide//Seek
4x Gilded Light
3x Astral Slide

Lands
4x Windswept Heath
2x Forest
2x Plains
1x Swamp
1x Mountain
2x Temple Garden
1x Stomping Ground
1x Sacred Foundry
1x Godless Shrine
1x Overgrown Tomb
4x Tranquil Thicket
4x Secluded Steppe

Sideboard
4x Leyline of the Void
4x Condemn
2x Hide//Seek
3x Cranial Extraction
2x Dwarven Blastminer

The first thing I want to do is remove the red, I really don’t think its needed and I want a more consistent mana base.

Secondly I know I want to remove the graveyard hate, I’m going to rely on my graveyard too much. As I know that extended is very graveyard centric I will add a full compliment of Withered Wretches between the main deck and sideboard.

Lastly I love the tutor engine of this deck, Shred Memory is a useful card in many matchups and is a very powerful tutor, I feel I want to add one or two Dimir House Gaurds to allow for other relevant tutors as well, tutoring for Heirach or Wrath is very important at times. Giving the deck more of an opportunity for turn 3 Wrath can be vital.

The issue of a tutor engine is quite difficult though, should I max out on just one of the two searchers or on both? Searching for wrath is important at times, but then sometime finding Cruel Edict is enough. Should I go further and include a single copy of Grim Harvest to give the deck another method of recurring its threats/tutors. I think that’s a very good idea, but should it be a singleton or a play set. It seams strange to include singletons of that you want to cast several times but to include a play set of something that just helps the recursion, but I think the deck will rarely be able to afford to waste the tutor on the engine piece.

Anyway, I’ll play with the deck abit more and post about it after the random Extended tournament tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

