The Adventures of Orange Man

Ok the deck list I played with:

Creatures:
4x Bird of Paradise
4x Eternal Witness
4x Sakura Tribe Elder
3x Carven Caryatid
1x Nezumi Graverobber
1x True Believer
1x Viridian Zealot

Spells:
4x Wrath of God
3x Astral Slide
3x Life from Loam
4x Shred Memory
1x Chainer’s Edict
1x Shining Shoal
1x Dark Heart of the Wood

Land:
4x Windswept Heath
2x Temple Garden
4x Overgrown Tomb
2x Godless Shrine
4x Tranquil Thicket
3x Barren Moor
2x Secluded Steppe
2x Forest
1x Plains
1x Swamp
Sideboard:
4x Cranial Extraction
1x Hide // Seek
1x Darkblast
1x Auriok Champion
1x Silver Knight
1x Kami of Ancient Law
1x Gift of Estates
1x Disenchant
1x Suppression Field

Few things, firstly yes that is only 12 cards in the sideboard, the 3 Carven Caryatid should be in the sideboard not the main deck but lets go over the differences I should have had if my deck building was optimal.

– 3 Carven Caryatid to sideboard + 3 Loxodon Heirach

This one is pretty obvious, the Carytids are good, but they are not half as good as a Heirach, for that matter they are harder to cast. Their exclusion from the deck on the day was purely due to availability.

-2 Sakura Tribe Elder
+2 Solitary Confinement

The deck has too much mana acceleration, it has 25 land currently and 8 mana accelerators is too many for this deck. The left field play of a Solitary Confinement in what otherwise looks like a slide deck can confuse people quiet a bit. This also leads us to the next singlton the deck will run.

+1 Sterling Grove

Sterling Grove is everything the deck wants, a tutor-able way to tutor for the two important enchantments in the deck, protection for those enchantments after it is found. It does pretty much everything.  This means that we have cut something else from the deck, the only thing left that I think we can afford to cut is:

-2 Life from the Loam

I know I’d prefer to not have to tutor for them, but I think we need the variety of tutor targets and to be able to setup a Solitary Confinement lock easier. This leaves us with just enough room to squeeze in a final tutor target

+1 Crime // Punishment

Its the perfect removal and threat and you can tutor for it, the only reason it wasn’t in the deck on the day was I accidentally left them at home. I honestly thought there was one in the deck.

Onto the tournament report. I won the first round against a very friendly chap, who I love seeing at tournaments because he has so much fun. He isn’t the strongest player around and I fear that in a normal matchup he would have beaten me quite easily. The deck he was playing (it wasn’t his deck) was a red green good cards deck, running Veldaken Orrery to create lots of good blocking situations where he would play a creature at instant speed that caused his attacking creature to be bounced. So I won this round purely due to me making many less mistakes than my opponent.

Second round I got to play the owner of the store playing little red creatures and burn. This was a tough match, I lost the first game in pretty short order, needing something like the non existent Solitary Confinements to have a chance of winning. After sideboarding everything went my way, drawing all of my sideboard red hate and Bronwyn failing to draw anywhere as much land in the second game. The third game was a great nail biter, Bron drew just few enough lands to give me time to stabilise on very little life then cast Dark Heart of the Wood. Boy was that card perfect for me all day, for just 5 mana I could tutor for then cast and gain upto 15 life easily. This is why I would also make the following change to the mana base:

-1 Godless Shrine
+1 Temple Garden

Drawing the correct mana in the opening hand isn’t as important as having extra forests in play. Gaining 6 life on the spot instead of just 3 can be vital when you have dropped to very low life in the early game.

The final round was quite boring all I learnt was that this deck needs some ways to work out how to mess up control decks, the only way I could interact with his deck was to play my true believe to stop him playing Gifts Ungiven. Sideboarding in the Cranial Extractions was good, but not good enough.

Over all I was very happy with the way the deck played, although having Heirachs not silly statues would be much nicer. The biggest question is how to combat control decks though, I really have no idea. I’d love to hear what ideas you guys have for ways to insert some great anti control silver bullets.

Leave a Reply

