Zacchaeus – Selfless Convert or Still Sly

We were looking at Luke 19:1-10 last night at Tangent (our Tuesday night congregation that meets at a beer cafe (aka pub)) and one of the verses in the translation we were using stood out to me:

“… and if I have defrauded anyone of anything, I will pay back four times as much.”

This bit has always been read by me of being an admission of past fraud and an attempt at repairing the damage through generosity.

Last night I read it as a defiant declaration that Zacchaeus was always a decent fellow, just because he worked for the Romans and made lots of money didn’t mean he was a villain. It sounds more like a challenge that he doesn’t expect to need to be carried out. Much like the Scarab Warcharm guarantees used on IRC currently (I’ll give you a Scarab Warcharm if I’m wrong) .

I’m pretty confident that its just an oddity in the translation used but it is interesting to think about

Leave a Reply

