I’m pleased to announce that the NMC06 was successfully run on Saturday. The even ran smoothly and quickly.
The only minor disturbance was a few of the younger players getting into a heated debate over whether or not their opponent had played a certain spell or not. The situation is that Player A taps some mana and starts to place card on table, but just before physically putting it on the table Player C (on the other team) grabs it to read what it is. Then Player A claims that he doesn’t actually want to play it. By the time I come over (I was never called but if a Judge doesn’t jump in when a argument is under way they need to have a good reason to) the two teams are into a fairly heated argument. Player C is claiming that the card was placed on the table for several seconds before he picked it up to read.
Now its impossible to determine when exactly A decided to not play the spell but I also felt that it was unlikely that C had given any extra information about possible responses by merely trying to understand the card. I ruled that the spell hadn’t been played yet and subsequently that the mana tapped immediately before playing the spell could be undone (to me if you start talking about floating mana, the mana will always stay floating, otherwise tapping and playing a spell is all the same action). My current feeling is that I should have ensured that C had a full opportunity to read the full card text as A shouldn’t be allowed to prevent his opponent from reading the card when he clearly was at least partially through the action of placing the card on the stack.
Was I completely wrong though?