Black Stump

Weekend before last I went up to Black Stump an alternative christian music festival held near Sydney (from the perspective of a Melbournite). The festival is held at a large scout camping site (Cataract Park, Appin), and >5,000 people go along to it (I have no idea how many people go along but they quote the capacity of the big top at 5,000 and it was packed for the Sunday night thingy).

I went along with a bunch of people (the St. Marties crew) that I really didn’t know but they were very friendly and I wont hesitate to go along with them again. I went along to the Tim Costello ‘bible studies’ on the topic of leadership and was thoroughly entertained and learnt a lot. I made sure I listened to the only band that I knew the name of and didn’t despise: Sons of Korah, they were fantastic, they’re all such great musicians.

I rest of the time I floated around going to things that friends of friends wanted to see or just stopping at what ever caught my eye. In this time I heard the fantastic Scat, a jazz band which christian lyrics and amazing stage presence, the serene Myrrh, a folky girl group from Melbourne who really get into their music, I am annoyed to learn that I missed hearing Myrrh with the flute player who left the band.

Over all I found the weekend a blast and will be picking up a few CD’s from these bands soon. Also I will be looking forward to attending next year.

Leave a Reply

