The Favorite Cards Theory

I’m suggesting a new theory to describe the current Standard meta game. Most players I contend are just picking their few favourite cards and building a deck with them all in it. The only surprising bit is that it is working. For example lets look at my favourite T2 legal cards currently:

Life from the Loam
Stormbind
Mystic Enforcer
Magus of the Scroll

Ok so that looks like a good collection of powerful cards that can have some internal synergy. Its obvious this deck will be 3 colours: Red, Green and White. Now we need to add a few controlling elements, I suggest:

Lightning Helix
Char
Loxodon Heirach
Faiths Fetters
Savage Twister

As I think this deck will need 26 land (very controlling deck, needs a critical mass of land to make the Life/Stormbind combo work after getting several land into play) that leaves us with room for 34 cards, or 8.5 play sets. So I think the Savage Twisters should only be a duo, finally I think this looks like a good mana base:

4x Gemstone Mine
6x Karoo (split between the 3 on colour ones)
12x Shocks
2x Forest
1x Mountain
1x Plains

Although the Shock land count might be too high, and should be replaced with more karros and basics. That deck took me about 5 minutes to design, and I’m fairly sure it has the goods to deal with most decks going around, although I suspect the Scrolls might need to be Birds.

Leave a Reply

