My take on Money Theologies

Bad Prosperity Theology:

“I’ll give this money to that person who is obviously blessed by the Lord (because they are so wealthy) so he can do more good with.”

Bad Poverty Theology:

“I’ll give this money to this poor person because they need it. Now I can go off and have some fun with my other formerly rich friends who now give away to much money to be considered rich and all pat each other on the back for giving away so much money.”

Bad Stewardship Theology:

“I’ll admit that the Poverty Theology people have a point so I’ll claim I’m spending my money wisely, so I wont trust the preacher to magically increase my money. I’ll give it to a bank and they’ll give me back more that I can spend responsibly.”

Bad Traditional Theology:

“I give 10% to my local church, I also give my small change to charity collectors and feel like I’m doing more than is required of me. After that I try to have fun.”

My Ideal Theology (that which I strive for, not what I do):

“I spend what I need to for me to do the things asked of me. With what I give to charity/church I ensure that it is being used constructively and efficiently.”

This is what makes sense to me, you have to have enough money to do what your called to do. Now you don’t have to earn it your self, but it must exist, if it doesn’t your probably our of tune with the path.

Also the second part is what I feel stewardship is about. Its about ensuring your money is used well. It’s not about ensuring you get lots of money to use well, although we commonly twist it to be that.

I’m not sure if this is useful to anyone, but it feels good to express.

Leave a Reply

