Moving Zen

On Monday night at The Cave, one of the players at the draft suggested that we do something different to try and teach the lesser players how to draft better. The whole concept seams a bit alien to me as I haven’t been playing for all that long (just starting my 4th block) and my limited rating isn’t all that hot (at time of writing: 1694, all time high: ~1720). The Monday night group I play with though are very much on the casual side of things, few of them have played in any sanctioned matches beyond Prereleases.

So once the concept of helping the less experienced players came up the 6 of us had to decide how to do it. Things were nice and balanced as we had 3 experienced players (referred to from now on as gurus, not particularly accurate, but descriptive) and 3 less experienced (referred to from now on as barns, not particularly accurate, but complimentary to the gurus). The first suggested idea was for the gurus to watch over the barns picks and help them out and comment on things. I didn’t like this too much, probably because I know that I’m to competitive and would be hesitant to tell my barn to take a card that I wanted for my deck.

My idea was to play a rochester draft, that is where a player (active player) opens a single pack and the cards are fanned out on the table for all to see, then each player in turn takes a card until the player on the right of the active player takes 2 cards and the pick order is reversed. Repeat for pack 1 of all players then reverse the direction with the next two packs. I like this as a learning format as everyone gets to see what people are valuing and learn how to cooperate with their neighbors. Sure its a different format to regular drafting but I think it teaches many of the same skills.

It seamed that I was the only one in favour of a rochester draft so I backed down and we proceeded with the coaching method. Naturally I was struck with a moral dilema when I had to recomend in pack 3 for my barn to pick a Tromp The Domains as a card to splash, I settled on the middle ground of reminding him of how powerful the card is without telling him he had to take it.

Anyway the draft didn’t go to well for me, I ended up 1-1-1 and in 4th place, cementing my reluctance to label myself as one of the better players at The Cave.

2 responses to “Moving Zen

  1. Awww gareth.. I didnt know you were that competative… the rochester draft was a good idea, but we didnt have that much time…

  2. I didn’t think I was a very competitive person either. TILL I started playing Magic :)

Leave a Reply

