A Comedy of Errors

Isn’t it strange how ‘A Comedy of Errors’ isn’t usually all that funny? Anyway, this is the tale of my fantastic Friday.

It all started fairly normally, got up for work at a reasonable hour and got some good traction on things at work in the morning. For lunch work was putting on a BBQ to farewell one of the employees. So we wandered over to the park to use the public electric BBQ. Pity it didn’t put out any heat, chances are the road works in the vicinity in the last week weeks have cut the power to it. :(

So Ashley runs off to check that the BBQ’s up at the local Uni are available and they are so a small bunch of us runs up there to cook the meat. The BBQ’s at Uni must be the slowest ever installed, but eventually we manage to get the meat cooked.

When we get out of the car back at the office I discover that a huge amount of oil from the meat has leaked onto my shorts during the car trip. So I hang around the lunch in just my boxers, nicking off early to go home and get some new shorts.

Finally I manage to get out of the office early enough to have time to setup for the LAN before people got there. That is if things had of been where they should be. Sure I was grateful that there were more extension cords and powerboards in the cupboard, but not having the powerpack for the 100mbit switch was a bummer. Now I was just hoping that no more than 7 people turned up with computers.

Starting to think of my self Joe and I get out the Worms PC and set it up in the chappel. Everythings going fine till the PC fails to detect its hard drive, I play in the BIOS for a bit then grab a screw driver and have a look inside. No wonder the BIOS couldn’t find the drive, neither could I.

Luckily the guys who came along are still a great bunch of guys and managed to get my spirits in much better order.

Best of luck to the next organiser.

Leave a Reply

