64Bit Ubuntu

I brought my self a laptop this week, a Acer Aspire 5630. Got it from Office Works for a nice price of $1899. I’m pretty happy with it, it has all the specs I want in a pc.

Got it home, messed around in windows for a short while, did important updates and such, and downloaded the current 64bit install CD for Ubuntu. After a fair bit of frigging around, I needed to use the alternate CD for no good reason, I got it installed. It didn’t even take much effort to get the video card working well.

What is really anoying though is the essential pieces of software that aren’t 64bit friendly:

  • Macromedia Flash
  • Java for Firefox
  • Wine

Now I managed to get the 32bit version of Firefox working with Flash and Java, but I couldn’t for the life of me manage to get Wine installed.

So back to 32bit land for me, lets hope April brings more 64bit happy pieces for Ubuntu. And Zen working out of the box with Ubuntu would also be great.

Chances are I’ll be left in 32bit OS land till October though I imagine.

Leave a Reply

