Extended Practice Tournament

I went along to Card Heaven last night expecting to draft but there was an extended tournament to start at 7.00, $10 entry. The only question was which deck to play, of all the extended decks with me, Affinity had the fewest proxies in the main deck, so I found 2 Arcbound Ravagers to borrow and attempted to create a sideboard.

I believe it eventually looked like this:

  • 4 Cabal Therapy
  • 2 Pithing Needle
  • 3 Ancient Grudge
  • 2 Krosan Grip
  • 4 Commons I never intended to read

Which I think is rather close to what I’d want it to be but with +2 Pithing Needle and +2 Krosan Grip.

Round1, Bill playing TEPS:

I get off to a reasonable start, but fail to remember that the ravager has a modular counter to start with so I can’t figure out how to do enough damage to win the turn before he combos out. It is quite demoralizing for your opponent to duress you and tell you how you should have won on the previous turn.
For game 2 I sideboard in the Cabal Therapies and out the 3 Spellbombs and a Frogmite. I wiff on my first therapy and the second takes a Minds Desire. I forget what the next one took, but I should have names Cabal Ritual as he managed to go off with 2 Cabal Rituals in hand along with 2 Infernal Tutors (both fetching more Cabal Rituals). His hand was a bit silly and won the turn before I expected it to.

Round 2, {Guy who organised the tourney} playing Agro Loam:

I’m lead to believe that this is a good match for me, but to my POV I only managed to win this round by the smallest of margins and good luck (or bad luck for my opponent). Game 1 I swing with a semi lethal Ornithopter the turn after he plays a very large Terravore (around 10/10) and he fails to draw (in the 5 cards he draws from cycling land) any of his ways to either kill me on the spot or block the ‘thopter for a single turn.

Game 2 I win purely because he fails to find a Life from the Loam and draws all 4 of his Seismic Assault’s.

Round 3, Chris playing Domain Control:

This match ends up being an exercise in humility for Chris. He sits down and proceeds to tell me how this is an impossible match for me, as he runs every possible hate card in the main deck, Deed and Explosives along with Global Ruin and Collective Restraint. So I remember that I need to play tight and not over extend.

I don’t want to write too much, as I can’t remember the details, but game 1 all his hate kills me, as I could never attack with Collective Restraint on the table. I sideboard in the Cabal Therapies and Krosan grips for Spellbombs and stuff that I forget.

Game 2 was a fairly drawn out affair, I managed to attack Chris down to about 7 life, after he had some mana issues, two of his land were copies of City of Brass. I could only get him that low because he attempted to play his Deed correctly and wait till during my turn to blow it, but that gave me opportunity to destroy it with Krosan Grip. Then I just waited, knowing that Chris was playing Absorb I didn’t want to play anything, while he could counter. So eventually (around 10 turns) he got impatient enough that he cast a Bringer of the Dawn on his turn and I responded with one of the 4 Shrapnel Blasts in hand, GG.

Game three was similar, but Chris was even more mana light, so I was more easily able to use my 2 Krosan grips to destroy the important artifacts/enchantments and win.

Round 4, Mat playing Mono Red – Burn, Land Destruction + Weenies:

This seemed to be a good matchup, land destruction doesn’t seem to be strong against Affinity, even when some of it doubles as artifact removal. Mainly as we all know that 1 for 1 answers aren’t good enough against affinity as it will just play out more threats than you can answer 1 for 1. So I won three pretty quick games, and managed to finish up 3-1.

It was nice to go 3-1 and finish in third place with $24 of store credit. My first ‘cash’ prize :)

4 responses to “Extended Practice Tournament

  1. How much was it to enter ?

    And I told you on wednesday its “seem” hahaha…

    Interesting you tried the affinity over the green deck you were so happy about, also, jamie has fixed his adding in agorthorian wurn, and chrome moxes

  2. For someone whos trying to be picking on spelling you don’t seem to be able to read the first paragraph all that well.

  3. Looks like you had great fun, wish i could draft SOMETIME! Stupid highschool =[ my next draft would be next monday as I will finish my first SAC and if mum is being the nice person she is….

Leave a Reply

