Wolfgang Simson

Sunday morning at Dangerous Stories II Wolfgang Simson gave a great plenary (fully attended or constituted by all entitled to be present – many of us had no idea what this word meant). He spoke about many different things, but they were spoilt by one of his initial comments.

Before Wolfgang came on stage, an offering was taken for Jay Jefferies work towards a bible of the dark arts, or maybe a bible for new age people, I forget which. I believe somewhere in the order of $2.5 thousand was collected, although I might have mis-heard that number and I don’t believe that number was available to Wolfgang during his plenary.

Wolfgang’s comment that got me off side was roughly: “During the collection I asked the person next to me what the largest coin in Australia was and the reply I got was $2. So I’d like to know why all the people putting in coins were bothering, it insulting.” This caused me significant distress, you can’t just wander around and tell people that their contribution was insignificant. You can tell people that you know that they aren’t pulling their weight, you can tell a crowd that they need to scrutinize their commitments. The first needs a knowledge of the person to know what is appropriate, you can’t make that statement in general, you will offend and hurt people who are doing their best.

Hurting innocents, especially when the right thing to do isn’t hard, is not ok.

Is it just me or does Wolfgang Simson remind you of Sufjan Stevens (just the sound of the name).

Leave a Reply

