EDH: A Review of My Decks

Playing against a friends EDH decks yesterday I realised how poor my choice of generals is. My two decks currently use Adum Oakenshield and Nicol Bolas, both powerful effects but not as good matches as the Zur the Enchanter and Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind.

Adum and Zur both fill similar roles in the deck, getting a repeatable effect reliably early in the game. The problem being that Zur’s effect is always useful, grabbing an early Phyrexian Arena can be game winning. Early raise dead effects aren’t so fantastic. I really enjoy playing my Adum deck, but rarely does Adum see play (although it can be important when he does).

I don’t think that Nicol Bolas is a bad general, and it fills a similar role to Niv-Mizzet, I think the problem their is that the deck is built in a very unfocused manner. I wont bother to fix the deck as it doesn’t excite me. So now I need to find some new generals to build around, so I’m going to post a few articles on possible legends following this one.

Keep watching this space

Leave a Reply

