Architecture in Helsinki + Bridezilla + Violins

Saw AiH in last night at Billboard (the Venue). It was an interesting concert.

First up the first support act, Damien Kelly, a DJ who does some stuff with RRR in Melbourne, apparently failed to show. It wasn’t a huge issue but I could have done with not turning up to hear him and standing around listening to bad music for an extra hour. Speaking of the bad music, the choice of music was fairly eclectic, but sort of in theme for AiH.

Eventually the second support act started. Bridezilla were a refreshing change. They are a five piece with my favourite quirk, a girl on violin. Also high on my list of desirable things in a band is girls playing: keyboard/saxophone, guitar, guitar/vocal. The guy on drums was typical, its very hard to find female drummers, so we can accept the slight down side.

I liked their style, the lyrics weren’t comprehensible when live, but that’s not the bands fault usually. Well I suck at describing music so I wont bother too much. What I will describe is something that will make me sound rather shallow, but anyway: The violinist, Daisy Tully, sure knows how to make the violin a very sexy instrument to play.

It must be something about playing an instrument that doesn’t tie you down. The guitar you have to hide behind. There is only so much ‘sexy’ you can do hiding behind a plank of wood, ‘sultry’ is well within grasp along with many other alluring looks, just not straight ‘sexy’. Keyboard can be interesting, but nothing is as sexy as the violin. Maybe it is to do with the position you hold a violin in is very similar to the pose taken for ball room dancing, which conveniently leaves the body free for lots of interesting ‘movements’.

Any way the point of all that was: Jane Doe really does know how to use her body. It was very captivating. I do want to state for the record though, I didn’t buy their EP just because she was hot, I brought it because I liked their music. I’ll be sticking to that story.

Onto the main story, which is long and interesting enough in its own right. I was slightly apprehensive about how much I was going to enjoy their music. Last time I heard them it was my first time with the 6 member line up. Apparently they were trying figure out how to cope without the main brass sections and I would have preferred them to not bothered with the few songs that really needed the brass as the main part of the songs. Sure they are classic and favourite AiH tracks, but ruining them didn’t make them happy.

This time though one of them had gotten around to learning (or has achieved enough proficiency with) the trombone so they had some live brass to supplement the electric brass. So on that front I was very happy. There was a large down side.

I think the rear drum panel was on the fritz, they paused between songs several times, attempting to get the tech guys to fix things. There was also the usually amount of “please adjust the level mister sound man” but it got to the point where the lead guy stormed over to the side of the stage to get his volume right. Now I can understand just how hard it would be to keep all the levels right for a band like AiH that continually switches instruments, but that is their job, get on with it boys.

2 responses to “Architecture in Helsinki + Bridezilla + Violins

  1. That guy in AiH has always played trombone, but yes, they did lose two other brass instrument players, most notably the tuba player. I presume it was a tuba anyway, it was a very large brass instrument.

  2. hrm, well the general observation that they handled their need for brass better than previously stands. Lack of, or substitution of brass wasn’t an issue this concert.

Leave a Reply

