Mummy I wanna be an Artist

Dan of Dan’s Data recently posted an article about Genetic Modification of Humans. While its not the most informative piece, at least for those who understand genetics in at least a high school way, it does have several good links and provokes some interesting thoughts.

What would you change about your self if you could wave a magic wand? The first things I would change would be purely physical. Convince my body to not store more than 1% fat, in the modern western world we have no need for fat reserves. I wouldn’t do anything about my physical appearance beyond getting a perfectly healthy body, although I probably would reverse a bit of hair loss.

Such small (or large) changes would be good but we really haven’t changed anything other than my life expectancy yet, which I assume should be in the high 100’s once technology like this becomes available. What I would really like to change about my self is to get at artistic things. Yes I know I write a blog, but I don’t do that because I think people will be entertained by my prose. Its a personal expression thing: I write because it helps me think. Also I think that some of my posts would be helpful to people, I do occasionally post something worth finding in a search engine.

Now I wouldn’t want to be the next huge thing in art. Just someone who could make a decent living doing something artistic 30 hours a week. I would cope with 40 or 50 hours if it was enough fun though :)

Sitting around waiting for genetic therapies to make your life idyllic isn’t a good idea though, as I’ll probably die before they start to be covered under normal health care plans. I have been enjoying the work of several people around the world where they remove the borders, like these following images:

Brainstorm Brainstorm Sudden Death Regrowth Pyroclasm Ponder Exspanse Daze Counterbalance Bird of Paradise

There’s a lot of very good looking art in those. Although some are better than others. One question is how playable are these cards. If care is taken while painting to ensure that the cards thickness doesn’t change they aren’t any more marked than a foil card is (which isn’t the same things as saying they aren’t marked).

From all the reading I have done of the relevant DCI documents, I have only found one relevant clause: Artistic modifications and signatures are acceptable if they don’t make the cards art hard to recognize (paraphrased, but if the specific wording is important to you: A) you’re pushing things to far and B) you can find it for your self). The other relevant thing is a [O] net rep ruling from roughly 2004 stating that a cards title is what defines which card it is (it is relevant to cards that are badly miscut, but the concept can be applied a bit more broadly. So when I start doing these modifications I will always do two things:

  • Not modify the cards art, except for some subtle blending at the edges to make my art feel more natural
  • Leave the card name alone.

As a judge I would have no problem with a player using any of the above cards in a sanctioned tournament. I would remind any player using such cards that anything beyond a mint card could be risky as different judges will rule differently. I would suspect that many other judges would find the cards that remove game relevant text to be illegal though, so your millage may vary.

I probably wont make any cards that go as far as the Pyroclasm and Terramorphic Exspanse though for a very long time. That is just a matter of skill though, my skills currently are non-existent, so I suspect it will be a long time before I feel comfortable enough to add large blocks of original art.

Once I return from India the purchasing of some art supplies will be need to be done.

One response to “Mummy I wanna be an Artist

  1. That is some fantastic art :O

Leave a Reply

