KL + India #1 – Ariving in KL

Over the next few days (read weeks) I’m going to be posting bits and pieces of my trip to the Pro Tour in Kuala Lumpur with a short trip over to India added to the end. If you want to read all of them and nothing else follow my India tag, people that only want to read judging things can follow my judging tags and skip the other bits. Chances are though that the post will be long enough that they involve many topics each.

Feb 12th
Arrive at the airport over 3 hours before my flight. Check in my pack with attached day pack. Trundle off with my (read mums) yellow carry on suitcase to buy my self a novel to read and a hard case for my sunglasses. I pick up the first book in a trilogy that I read the end of on a recent trip, I wasn’t happy to learn it was book 3, I had spent a lot of time checking that it wasn’t apart of a series. Some times you look very hard and still manage to not see what you were looking for :(

Having completed my shopping I went to go through emigration. I was stopped on my way through the first door and had my carry on case checked for weight: 11kg. Apparently that is 3kg over weight :( I had been trying to follow the advice of many experienced judges and take my essential judging equipment in my carry on luggage. A short chat back at the check in counter later and I was heading to emigration with just a book in my hands.

After sitting in the departure lounge for ~30 minutes Matt ‘Chewy’ ‘Glasses around my neck’ Bowman and his wife Jenny turned up. They had booked the same flight as me, not all that surprising that someone I knew was on the same plane. Chatting with them did make the wait for the 12:45am flight much less boring.

Feb 13th
Finally  time to board comes around and we take off a few minutes late.  For some odd reason I don’t do much of any of the following during the flight:

  • Read my book
  • Enjoy in-flight entertainment. I don’t even get any headphones, what was I thinking?
  • Sleep

All I appeared to do was think. I guess there were a few things on my mind.

We arrived in Kuala Lumur on time and the airport was a very nice experience. The commuter train from the terminal we landed at to the main terminal was fast and regular. We did wait for a while for the luggage to start coming on the carousel, but that was the worst of it.

Having 0 quarantine was more of a surprise. We just picked up our bags then walked past armed guards, nothing more to. Heard a story later of some people who thought they had illegally skipped quarantine and had the armed guards pointing their guns at them as they tried to get back in. I can see why they thought that as well.

The three of us caught the KLIA Express and wandered around the transport hub and eventually found the monorail that went past our hotels. Arriving at the hotel I pretty quickly headed back out with the guys I was staying with to do some sight seeing.

But that the story is for my next post.

Leave a Reply

