PTQ Berlin Warm Up – Meta Games Pimpin’ Block

Played in Meta Games’ Pimpin’ Block tournament this Sunday, trying to get some practice in and understand the format for this coming weekends PTQ. I decided to play the Doran decklist from the top 8 of GP Denver:

Creature [23]
4 Chameleon Colossus
3 Cloudthresher
4 Doran, the Siege Tower
4 Scarblade Elite
4 Treefolk Harbinger
4 Wren’s Run Vanquisher

Instant [8]
4 Crib Swap
4 Nameless Inversion

Sorcery [4]
4 Profane Command

Land [25]
2 Fetid Heath
3 Forest
4 Gilt-Leaf Palace
4 Murmuring Bosk
4 Reflecting Pool
2 Swamp
2 Twilight Mire
4 Vivid Grove

Sideboard:
1 Cloudthresher
4 Kitchen Finks
2 Shriekmaw
4 Soul Snuffers
4 Thoughtseize

I wanted to play the deck because it was one of the few lists that I’d seen that had 4 Profane Commands main deck. I think that card is so hot, and I don’t mind drawing all 4 in a game.

There were 18 players so 5 rounds + top 8. I only lost round 2 against Kithkin I believe, and that was a mull to 4 in game 3 :(. I had to play round 5 because my terrible tie breakers left me in 7th place at the end of round 4, but winning that round left me as top of the swiss.  First time thats ever happened to me :)

The quarter final was another Kithkin matchup and I lost it pretty quickly.

I was very happy my foil Wanderwine Hub for 5th place.

One response to “PTQ Berlin Warm Up – Meta Games Pimpin’ Block

  1. PS: that sideboard sucks, definitly needs Wispmare / Wickerbough Elder against Runed Halo.

    Other sideboard tech/changes are welcome.

Leave a Reply

