PTQ Berlin – Melbourne

Using the deck I had success with last weekend I went into the PTQ confident of a respectable win. After making several changes to last weeks sideboard, but none to the main deck this is what I played:

Creature [23]
4 Chameleon Colossus
3 Cloudthresher
4 Doran, the Siege Tower
4 Scarblade Elite
4 Treefolk Harbinger
4 Wren’s Run Vanquisher

Instant [8]
4 Crib Swap
4 Nameless Inversion

Sorcery [4]
4 Profane Command

Sideboard:
1 Cloudthresher
2 Kitchen Finks
2 Shriekmaw
3 Soul Snuffers
2 Wispmare
1 Wickerbough Elder
2 Snakeform
2 Puppeter Clique

This sideboard was much better than the list from Denver. I managed to finish the tournament at 5-1-1 with my loss in the swiss coming to Faeries weilded by Will Chan.

The top 8 consisted of:
Chan – Faeries
Charles – Faeries
Chifley – Faeries
Gareth – Assfolk
Juzza – Doran
Jezza – Kithkin
Scott – Doran
Dwaine – Quillspike

My quarter final was against Charles Koh, his first hand would have blown Doran’s 2 drop opening hand out of the water but I had the tree folk opening so I won reasonably quickly. The second game Charles kept a hand that just needed to draw a coloured mana source, he didn’t so he lost. I did give him only 4 draw steps to find the mana source so I advanced to the Semi.

Unfortunately, I was destined to play the winner of the Faerie miror, and I lost in two very dominate games. So the three Faerie decks I played on the day were the three in the top 8 and managed 3-4 in games against them. So I was pretty happy with my result to be honest.

Leave a Reply

