Luv A Burger/Sandwich/Coffee

So I’ve been traveling to Middlemount in central Queensland for work quite a bit recently, we’ve sold a system to help prevent some of their machines from crashing into each other.

So naturally I’ve been trying to get some decent food after I fly into Emerald. I’ve found a decent little café called Luv a Coffee, in a shopping center in Emerald. The first lunch I had there I ordered their beef burger. The burger was pretty good, many café’s could learn a useful lesson or two from them, although they still suffer from the low quality bun syndrome.

Is it really that hard to buy quality buns?

If there burger was all there was to this story I wouldn’t be bothering to write it, despite the 8.5 the burger is going to get in my rating.

The real story is the club sandwich. While I was eating my burger I saw someone on an adjacent table eating one of the club sandwiches. Three slices of toast with chicken, tomato, lettuce, bacon, mayonaisé, avocado some some important ingredient that I’m forgetting. Cut into four triangles arranged on the plate using skewers to hold the pieces together.

The plate is finished off with a stack of shoe string fries covered in a great tasting red salt.

I know its a simple dish, but so is a good burger. Its just very well put together. I’m going to give the club sandwich a 9, but it doesn’t get to go in the scale as its not a burger

0.0 – No Burger :(
0.5 – McDonalds Cheese Burger
1.0 – Big Mac
1.5 – KFC Filler
2.0 – Any burger at Hungry Jacks
2.5 – Hogs Breath Cafe (Canberra Central)
3.0 – La Monicas (Mornington)
3.5 – Soda Rock
4.0 – Average Fish and Chips shop burger
5.0 – Good Fish and Chip shop burger
7.0 – BBNT burger
8.5 – Urban Burger
8.5 – Luv A Burger, Emerald
8.5 – Trims Cafe, McCrae
9.0 – Grill’d

4 responses to “Luv A Burger/Sandwich/Coffee

  1. Nice review Garath. Pitty about the bun. But I will remember this place.

  2. a pointing exercise for burgers? I’m used to Magic cards but this makes so much sense.

    where does an Oporto’s sit, if you partake of such eatery.

  3. Oporto’s probably sits at around 1.5 from the ones I’ve had. Uninspired menu, using over processed buns. Only the use of real chicken gets them above McDs

Leave a Reply

