Telechoice, Optus, Apple and Fraud

So on the 13th I received a call from a fairly nice guy from Optus, lets call him Steve because I don’t know any Steves. He was offering to sell me an iPhone, which was convenient because I’d been thinking of buying one.

I settle on the 16G 3G S model on a $79 cap with $10 per month cash back. Which while being a fair bit more than I spend on my $39 plan that I was currently on, it sounded like a decent deal for two reasons: The iPhone appears to be a fairly nice piece of hardware, crippled with some DRM crap but I can choose how to deal with that later; and my last two bills had come in at ~$80 so I might actually save money.

After spending what felt like 3 days on the phone answering and asking questions I get told that my new ‘Phone will be arriving in 7 days time. That sounds like slow processing, but I’ll deal especially as I will be interstate for work for what ended up being 9 days so it wouldn’t matter to me.

Arriving back in the office this arvo I ask has a package arrived for me, it hasn’t. Same answer in the other office. Calling my house mate no package has arrived at home either. So I give Optus a call. There lovely phone system can’t handle the complex request of “where is my iPhone” so the nice switchboard lady passes me to the right place.

But this just brings up more questions, as they can’t find my order anywhere in their system. Eventually the helpful lass tells me that I placed an order with Telechoice and I’ll need to ring them. The number she forwards to me isn’t a general inquiry line its the line for “Sam from head office” and I doubt that leaving a message (which I did) for him is going to get me anywhere. So I google up Telechoice’s main customer phone number and eventually get to speak to someone.

So this nice voice on a phone tells me that they don’t have any iPhones in stock and they are on backorder and they don’t know when they will have any more. This doesn’t make me happy.

Naturally this someone can’t actually help me resolve their fraudulent sales technique or that I am now being charged an increased rate for a phone and service I don’t have.

So now I am awaiting a phone call from Luke Forster, I’ll give him till 9.30 tomorrow to call me. They have some serious work to do, there was two pieces of fraud in the initial phone call: Saying he was from Optus is false and misleading; Giving an expected delivery date when they have no idea of when they will actually get the product to sell to me.

I wonder what they will offer to placate me.

I’m demanding something.

I’m expecting nothing

Thank you for listening to me rant.

Leave a Reply

